Staining Help Needed! I Finished My Red Oak Kitchen Cabinets And They Look Horrible!! - Painting - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-14-2012, 01:48 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Staining Help Needed! I finished my Red Oak Kitchen Cabinets and they look horrible!!

I'm a complete novice at staining and varnishing and am hoping to get some guidance from those with more experience than me!!

I bought some unfinished red oak kitchen cabinets from Home Depot and finished them myself with the following process:

1 coat Minwax sanding sealer using foam brush
sanded using 320 grit
3 coats Minwax water-based oil-Modified Polyurethane (clear semi-gloss) using foam brush
sanded 220 grit between each application

Problem: The grain was brought out with the finishes and it almost looks like different wood species was used on the face fronts of the cabinets!!

I built 4 custom cabinets to fill in the oddball sizes in the kitchen and used solid red oak bought from Home Depot. The first picture below shows the right end cabinet I built and how different it looks next to the Home Depot cabinet. Even the Home Depot face fronts show huge variations in the wood (second pic). The last picture shows a cabinet before I applied the finishes.

I didn't use stain since I don't like darker wood at all and just really like the lightness of the unfinished wood. I have since bought some quality bristles brushes and have access to a medium-quality paint sprayer if that is recommended.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Questions:

1) Can these finishes be completely sanded off?

2) Which finish (varnish, shellac, lacquer, water-polys) should I use to NOT bring out the grain and have the look of the unfinished cabinets (third pic) but to still have the approprate protection against water in a kitchen environment?