Stain Washes Right Off Railing - Painting - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-08-2013, 01:32 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Stain washes right off railing

I have a railing that the stain is washing right off with mild soap and water...oops, anyways it was coming off slowly from peoples hands, I noticed it washed off when I was wiping some dust off....so the house is 4 yrs old and I notice stain coming off other parts of the home with that stain...is there a way to touch it up again without sanding and redoing the whole thing over....is it washing off because it was not sealed after? This can not be normal....I am no diy pro....but thought maybe I can make it look better than it is but have no idea what I should or what to use....lots of stuff in this house seems so half a$$ heh...I find more poor quality stuff every single day....oh well...thx for any input.

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Advertisement

Last edited by undersc0re; 02-08-2013 at 08:31 PM. Reason: added another picture
undersc0re is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 04:02 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 610

If you tryed to apply stain over the old sealed surface it's just going to wipe right off.
Stain needs bare wood to soak into if not it just floats on top of the sealer.
Once stain is a apply and allowed to dry it must be sealed with poly.

Advertisement

joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joecaption For This Useful Post:
undersc0re (02-08-2013)
Old 02-08-2013, 05:17 PM   #3

Unhappy

Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
If you tryed to apply stain over the old sealed surface it's just going to wipe right off.
Stain needs bare wood to soak into if not it just floats on top of the sealer.
Once stain is a apply and allowed to dry it must be sealed with poly.