Spraying VS Rolling - Painting - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 06-18-2010, 08:10 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 25

Spraying VS Rolling

I'm in the process of finishing my basement and getting ready to prime and paint the new drywall. I have a power sprayer, but I've never used it on interior walls before, so I'm wondering if anyone here has comments about pros and cons re: spraying vs rolling for primer and finish coats? preferences? experiences?

Advertisement

gdoucette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2010, 09:06 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 250

Spraying VS Rolling

IMHO, interior spraying is only worthwhile if you have no floor coverings, trim, etc and are working a large area . (new construction, some remodeling)

Secondly, is your sprayer capable of spraying unthinned heavy body acrylic paints and primers? Most homeowner sprayers can't.

Lastly do you have the experience to spray a consistent coating. Spraying looks easy but looks are deceiving. It takes skill and experience to spray a consistent paint film at the thickness the paint manufacturer's recommend. You can always spray and backroll/backbrush which saves time and helps with consistency.

Maybe these factors will help with your decision.

Advertisement

hennyh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2010, 09:25 AM   #3

Rewards Points: 500

Spraying VS Rolling

Very Good Lead in Hennyh.