Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 06-06-2010, 08:52 AM   #1

Share |

Slightly rough after spray painting

Hi,
Firstly, Ill just say Im a Carpenter/Joiner and mostly make custom made furniture.
Ive been meaning to join a forum for a while now for advice on spray painting.
I have been using and self teaching myself with a compressor and HVLP spray gun. It took a while to figure out how to get good results. Im pretty happy now with my results, however I cant seem to get it perfect.
What I usually do is after priming give a light sanding between coats. After a few coats and after one of the light sandings the surface feels perfect, although you can see its been sanded, so it needs one more coat. But then after the last coat it feels slightly rough again! but looks fine. Do I need to give a very light sanding after that last coat? (is it normal practice?) or would you say its something to do with dust in the air?
I appreciate any advice.
Colin.

colinmc8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2010, 11:14 AM   #2

I am not a furniture finish expert, but I think your final sanding needs to be with a 600 grit or buffing pad.

Matthewt1970 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2010, 12:23 PM   #3

Thanks Matthew, basically the question is, is it normal practice to sand after the final coat is applied or is it normally left as is? Oh and I'm currently doing a painted gloss finish, solvent based.
Old 06-07-2010, 02:09 AM   #4
Finisher

Quote:
Originally Posted by colinmc8 View Post
Thanks Matthew, basically the question is, is it normal practice to sand after the final coat is applied or is it normally left as is? Oh and I'm currently doing a painted gloss finish, solvent based.
Using a compressed air sprayer? I'd guess that your product is drying in the air before it hits the surface - you need a retarder. Can't suggest one though as I don't know what product you're using.