Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-11-2014, 10:40 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Re-staining


Hi folks, newbie here with a question. Iíve got a house that was stained approx 8yrs ago using Benjamin Moore Moorwood stain. Itís now just starting to show itís wear. Not bad, but a few knots just becoming visible. Weíre having a painter do some facia/rake trim work and he also gave us an estimate to re-stain the entire house (1 coat) the same color but using Sherman Williams WoodScapes stain. He said because the existing stain isnít ďbadĒ, and itís the same color, just one coat should be fine for a fresh finish and added life. Does this sound legit? Iíve always heard itís not so much how many coats you apply, but how good of a prep-job you do before painting that really determines the final outcome. So is this guy cutting corners, or is there very little prep work required if the house is in decent shape and could just use a little ďfreshing upĒ. Any thought/comments/feedback would be appreciated! Thanks, Sully

Sully_454 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2014, 11:01 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina, USA
Posts: 2,870
Rewards Points: 50
Default

Re-staining


Well, what exactly are you staining? Your whole house exterior?

The house should be powerwashed first, but other than that if it's in good shape, it's usually not even preferred to give more than 1 coat of stain. They make different formulations of Woodscapes I think, so it makes a difference which you're using I think.

jeffnc is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jeffnc For This Useful Post:
Sully_454 (08-11-2014)
Old 08-11-2014, 11:38 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Re-staining


Sorry. My bad. Yes, they are powerwasking prior as well. And the existing BM stain is a Premium exterior latex solid. He didn't say a particular type of SW WoodScapes. It looks like there's 2 on their website; acrylic solid color & Poly semi-transparent.
Sully_454 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2014, 12:39 PM   #4
Member
 
Gymschu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Eastern Ohio (heart of Appalachia)
Posts: 2,827
Rewards Points: 6
Default

Re-staining


Solid woodscapes usually takes 2 coats for proper coverage. If you just want a one coat maintenance coat, I would use what was used originally.


Sent from my iPhone using diychatroom.com
Gymschu is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Gymschu For This Useful Post:
housepaintingny (08-11-2014), Sully_454 (08-11-2014)
Old 08-11-2014, 12:59 PM   #5
Member
 
Jmayspaint's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1,199
Rewards Points: 14
Default

Re-staining


One good heavy coat can be fine over existing solid stain in good condition, but if you want the material warranty from SW you have to apply two.
Jmayspaint is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Jmayspaint For This Useful Post:
housepaintingny (08-11-2014), Sully_454 (08-11-2014)
Old 08-11-2014, 05:29 PM   #6
Painting contractor
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 66
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Re-staining


I re-stained a house last year with Woodscapes. Pressure washed, waited 3 days for it to dry then 2 coats as recommended by label directions (good stuff to know about on the side of the cans). I was very satisfied with the product but it does need two coats IMO.
Red Dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2014, 05:39 PM   #7
Painting Company, NY
 
housepaintingny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 979
Rewards Points: 0
Blog Entries: 14
Default

Re-staining


Woodscapes is a good product, but even though your going with the existing color that is on the home you still may need two coats of the Woodscapes. It depends on how faded the existing solid stain is and other variables. In general if your just applying a maintenance coat you should stick with the same product that was applied originally and follow manufacturer specs for maintenance coating.
housepaintingny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2014, 08:53 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina, USA
Posts: 2,870
Rewards Points: 50
Default

Re-staining


Usually one coat recommendations are for penetrating stains. Woodscapes (I haven't used it) sounds like an acrylic film forming stain. In that case 2 coats makes sense, but personally I consider these more paint like than stain like.

jeffnc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Staining on 3yr old roof below dormers Bosma Roofing/Siding 9 10-08-2012 12:39 AM
Fix/restore base of door by staining? daluu General DIY Discussions 1 02-03-2012 02:00 PM
Staining Cedar Deck covitamarie Building & Construction 3 09-18-2011 09:03 PM
Deck staining nightmare sk8z Painting 14 12-29-2009 05:24 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.