Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-11-2014, 10:40 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

Re-staining

Hi folks, newbie here with a question. Iíve got a house that was stained approx 8yrs ago using Benjamin Moore Moorwood stain. Itís now just starting to show itís wear. Not bad, but a few knots just becoming visible. Weíre having a painter do some facia/rake trim work and he also gave us an estimate to re-stain the entire house (1 coat) the same color but using Sherman Williams WoodScapes stain. He said because the existing stain isnít ďbadĒ, and itís the same color, just one coat should be fine for a fresh finish and added life. Does this sound legit? Iíve always heard itís not so much how many coats you apply, but how good of a prep-job you do before painting that really determines the final outcome. So is this guy cutting corners, or is there very little prep work required if the house is in decent shape and could just use a little ďfreshing upĒ. Any thought/comments/feedback would be appreciated! Thanks, Sully

Sully_454 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2014, 11:01 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 50

Re-staining

Well, what exactly are you staining? Your whole house exterior?

The house should be powerwashed first, but other than that if it's in good shape, it's usually not even preferred to give more than 1 coat of stain. They make different formulations of Woodscapes I think, so it makes a difference which you're using I think.

jeffnc is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jeffnc For This Useful Post:
Sully_454 (08-11-2014)
Old 08-11-2014, 11:38 AM   #3

Re-staining

Sorry. My bad. Yes, they are powerwasking prior as well. And the existing BM stain is a Premium exterior latex solid. He didn't say a particular type of SW WoodScapes. It looks like there's 2 on their website; acrylic solid color & Poly semi-transparent.