Professional Painter Says The Freshly Painted Wall Is Peeling Off! HELP! - Painting - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-20-2009, 01:47 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Professional painter says the freshly painted wall is peeling off! HELP!

Hi!
I'm an interior designer and just got a distressing call from a painter I've hired to re-paint a children's playroom.
All paints we are using are Benjamin Moore. He was painting a previously white wall (which the owner assured me is B.M. as well) a bright color. He primed the wall yesterday and painted the first coat of the bright color. Today, when he got to the job site, he found that the paint is peeling off in giant sheets right down to the wallboard, which seems to be in fine shape.
Any thoughts as to why this is happening? Could it be that the pre-existing paint was oil-based? If so, wouldn't primer solve that problem? If not, how do I solve it?
Any thoughts would be very greatly appreciated!

Advertisement

designwright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 03:32 PM   #2
paper hanger and painter

Rewards Points: 2,238

If he or she actually was a professional painter, this would not happen and if it did, it would be fixed and explained why by them.

Advertisement

chrisn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 03:50 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 250

I do agree with Chris.
If it happened to be I would not call franticly. I would of already had a probable reason and a proposed solution when we spoke.
More than likely it was oil based paint on the wall. Or some other adhesion issue is at hand. Without seeing pics or knowing the true extent of the problem.
Old 08-20-2009, 04:26 PM   #4
Coatings Nerd