Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-10-2011, 07:49 PM   #1

Share |
Question

Priming before painting after wallpaper removal question

My husband painted our son's wall with primer today using a roller, but said it wasn't necessary to go all the way to the edges of the wall with primer. The wall had been wallpapered previously, so the paper was removed, the wall was repaired where necessary and the wall washed. There is about a 2-3 inch gap where he didn't paint. Is it really ok to leave it as it is, or should I go ahead and finish the job myself? The wall was a shade of lightly blemished off-white before priming and the primer is gray. The final paint will be a deep red. I can't begin to express how much I don't want to have problems with this paint job later, but I'm no expert and neither is he.
spiceoflife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2011, 08:04 PM   #2
Rubbin walls since'79

I think there are two parts to answer this. first- it is really important to get the paste off and cleaned well. It reactivates with new moisture ( paints, humidity) and can really be a problem. But in reality is is pretty hard to get it all off, so often here ( do a search for wallpaper removal here) we recommend priming with a Zinsser product called Gardz, or others like to use an oil primer, to really seal it in.
Not all primers do this, in fact few do.
So that is one concern.
The other is that you are priming with the grey to give a good foundation for painting red, which is one of the hardest colors to get to cover.
Because you are trying to do something to get the red to look deep and even, I would recommend a full prime including the brushwork. Usually the brushwork will be what covers the least, so you want all the help you can get.
Old 09-10-2011, 09:28 PM   #3
ltd