Primer In A New House?? - Painting - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-06-2007, 09:33 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 35
Rewards Points: 25
Default

primer in a new house??


I recently purchased a new home and I was wondering do i need to prime before I paint the walls?? Some people I asked said yes some said yes because the primer used by the builder is bad and some said no!!

Advertisement

diylady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2007, 06:59 AM   #2
Lic. Builder/GC/Remodeler
 
AtlanticWBConst.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New England
Posts: 7,556
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

primer in a new house??


Quote:
Originally Posted by diylady View Post
I recently purchased a new home and I was wondering do i need to prime before I paint the walls?? Some people I asked said yes some said yes because the primer used by the builder is bad and some said no!!
New construction (fresh bare drywall) = Always prime 1st.

If it has alrady been primed, it should be fine.

If you have doubts about the builder's priming job, paint (with your finish paint) one small wall near a sunny window and let it dry. If it looks fine, then paint away....

Advertisement

__________________
- Build Well -
AtlanticWBConst. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2007, 05:44 PM   #3
Tired, Cold, and Damp
 
slickshift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Cape Cod
Posts: 3,089
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

primer in a new house??


For repaints, there's usually no reason to prime
If it's bare drywall, yes it must be primed
If it's just primer on there now, I wouldn't re-prime
(unless there was hard evidence the primer on there now wouldn't adhere...but it would have to be pretty bad)
slickshift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2007, 05:51 AM   #4
Pro Painter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: northwest suburbs chicago
Posts: 448
Rewards Points: 250
Default

primer in a new house??


Do you mean the walls have already been primed and painted?

If so, you might want to find out what paint was used for the top coat.
Most likely, you'll be ok with just painting over it.
joewho is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cape Cod Style House Attic/Crawl Space Insulation Help Danielg Insulation 24 05-21-2012 09:20 AM
replumbing an old house simonfrog Plumbing 7 01-30-2012 05:45 AM
200 Amp service really needed for a 830 sq ft house? overkill? alexz Electrical 7 11-16-2009 06:54 PM
Re-siding house jdig Building & Construction 5 04-10-2007 10:15 AM
My dilemma: Painting exterior of house dvarga Painting 6 08-26-2005 10:23 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts