Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-29-2013, 09:27 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,504
Share |
Default

primer, 1 or 2 coats ?


just put a coat of sheeetrock brand primer on my new drywall in the new kitchen. seems to have covered well. and, as expected, i have some little touch ups to get. will i be ok with just 1 coat ?
and when i do the touch ups, mostly screw divots. should i touch those up or just move on to my 2 coats of paint ?

Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2013, 10:34 PM   #2
Member
 
cdaniels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: eastern NC
Posts: 377
Default

primer, 1 or 2 coats ?


1 coat of primer is all you need.Do your patching, spot prime the patches then two coats of paint.

__________________
Charlie Daniels painting and repair
cdaniels is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to cdaniels For This Useful Post:
kwikfishron (09-30-2013), ltd (09-30-2013), oh'mike (09-30-2013), ToolSeeker (09-30-2013)
Old 09-30-2013, 07:52 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,504
Default

primer, 1 or 2 coats ?


thats great !!! cause, that is what i was going to do anyway
the priming got primer all over everything. i looked like the abominable snowman when i was done.

would there be any problems "if" i needed to put some blue lid over a little larger area, say 2sf or something ? over the primer
Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2013, 09:24 PM   #4
Painting Contractor CT
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: West Hartford, CT
Posts: 112
Post

primer, 1 or 2 coats ?


One coat of primer is all you need..good luck!
KD PAINTING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2013, 10:41 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: outside ocala fl
Posts: 3,230
Default

primer, 1 or 2 coats ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Fix'n it View Post
thats great !!! cause, that is what i was going to do anyway
the priming got primer all over everything. i looked like the abominable snowman when i was done.

would there be any problems "if" i needed to put some blue lid over a little larger area, say 2sf or something ? over the primer
You would need to re-prime that area.
ToolSeeker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 08:28 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,504
Default

primer, 1 or 2 coats ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by ToolSeeker View Post
You would need to re-prime that area.
yeah, i know. but i was wondering if there was an issue with the blue lid sticking to the primer. i am thinking no. so, on to the next project.

Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
primer not adhering to drywall texture? eli_carson Drywall & Plaster 13 07-25-2013 08:00 AM
Clapboard repainting - 2 coats of primer? wetech Painting 18 05-25-2013 05:37 AM
how many coats of primer do i need tammisu Painting 4 03-26-2012 01:31 PM
PVA Primer Disaster bobcatm Painting 1 08-17-2010 12:41 PM
Primer for vinyl covered wallboard a new DIY-er Painting 0 02-20-2010 06:29 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.