Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-29-2013, 10:27 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 4,046
Rewards Points: 2,564
Default

primer, 1 or 2 coats ?


just put a coat of sheeetrock brand primer on my new drywall in the new kitchen. seems to have covered well. and, as expected, i have some little touch ups to get. will i be ok with just 1 coat ?
and when i do the touch ups, mostly screw divots. should i touch those up or just move on to my 2 coats of paint ?

Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2013, 11:34 PM   #2
Member
 
cdaniels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: eastern NC
Posts: 377
Rewards Points: 250
Default

primer, 1 or 2 coats ?


1 coat of primer is all you need.Do your patching, spot prime the patches then two coats of paint.

__________________
Charlie Daniels painting and repair
cdaniels is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to cdaniels For This Useful Post:
kwikfishron (09-30-2013), ltd (09-30-2013), oh'mike (09-30-2013), ToolSeeker (09-30-2013)
Old 09-30-2013, 08:52 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 4,046
Rewards Points: 2,564
Default

primer, 1 or 2 coats ?


thats great !!! cause, that is what i was going to do anyway
the priming got primer all over everything. i looked like the abominable snowman when i was done.

would there be any problems "if" i needed to put some blue lid over a little larger area, say 2sf or something ? over the primer
Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2013, 10:24 PM   #4
Painting Contractor CT
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: West Hartford, CT
Posts: 113
Rewards Points: 77
Post

primer, 1 or 2 coats ?


One coat of primer is all you need..good luck!
KD PAINTING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2013, 11:41 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: outside ocala fl
Posts: 3,741
Rewards Points: 2,518
Default

primer, 1 or 2 coats ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Fix'n it View Post
thats great !!! cause, that is what i was going to do anyway
the priming got primer all over everything. i looked like the abominable snowman when i was done.

would there be any problems "if" i needed to put some blue lid over a little larger area, say 2sf or something ? over the primer
You would need to re-prime that area.
ToolSeeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 09:28 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 4,046
Rewards Points: 2,564
Default

primer, 1 or 2 coats ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by ToolSeeker View Post
You would need to re-prime that area.
yeah, i know. but i was wondering if there was an issue with the blue lid sticking to the primer. i am thinking no. so, on to the next project.

Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
primer not adhering to drywall texture? eli_carson Drywall & Plaster 13 07-25-2013 09:00 AM
Clapboard repainting - 2 coats of primer? wetech Painting 18 05-25-2013 06:37 AM
how many coats of primer do i need tammisu Painting 4 03-26-2012 02:31 PM
PVA Primer Disaster bobcatm Painting 1 08-17-2010 01:41 PM
Primer for vinyl covered wallboard a new DIY-er Painting 0 02-20-2010 07:29 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.