DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

prepping old wood for painting newb questions

14K views 19 replies 3 participants last post by  Nestor_Kelebay 
#1 ·
Got some old wood from some tearouts that's still in pretty good shape. Some of the pieces still have some old paint, no idea what base(s) on them here and there. Since what I've kept is still very usable so I'm building some frames and whatnot. I want to paint them, more from a preservation and maintenance view than to make it pretty. I'm a newbie to this painting stuff, so after reviewing webstuff and some reading, I want to see if I understand what needs to be done to paint these pieces: 1. knock off all the loose stuff. 2. Rough sand each piece 3. Using rags and a brush, wipe down each piece with mineral spirits. 4. Wait a day. 5. Using rags and a different brush, wash down each piece with a TSP solution. 5a? Do I need to do a water wash or something after this to remove any residues from the TSP wash? 7. Put the frame together, glue and screws and whatnot. 8. One primer coat of exterior grade oil or latex based primer. 9. Wait a day. 10. Two coats of exterior grade oil or latex based paint. Does this sound right? Thanks!

#2 · (Edited)