Painting White Floors - Painting - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-02-2013, 03:36 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Painting white floors

Hello,

Newbie here, first post.

I want to paint my ugly cheap wood tiles parquet flooring white. I've been to a few places and they all tell me different ways to do it and I am completely lost right now.

What I want is simple. I want it white. Semi-glossy to glossy white. Benjamin Moore told me they have nothing for wood floors that is glossy (or semi-glossy). Same thing at Sherman Williams. They both have It satin but I want something that shine more than satin, hence glossy or semi-gloss. That's the look I am going for.

Oil based paint could work on the glossy side but since the floors will be white and I get plenty of sun inside, I don't want it to turn yellow with time.

What I've been told so far:

1- Oil based exterior primer coat.

2- 2 coats of exterior acrylic floor enamel

Does that make sense?

Anyone here have successfully paint wood floors (semi)glossy white?

Care to tell me what products (brand) you use and how to do it properly?

Thanks a lot in advance!

Advertisement

newme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 05:48 AM   #2
paper hanger and painter

Rewards Points: 2,234

Painting white floors

Quote:
Originally Posted by newme View Post
Hello,

Newbie here, first post.

I want to paint my ugly cheap wood tiles parquet flooring white. I've been to a few places and they all tell me different ways to do it and I am completely lost right now.

What I want is simple. I want it white. Semi-glossy to glossy white. Benjamin Moore told me they have nothing for wood floors that is glossy (or semi-glossy). Same thing at Sherman Williams. They both have It satin but I want something that shine more than satin, hence glossy or semi-gloss. That's the look I am going for.