Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-15-2007, 01:44 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

painting & prep-- Slickshift?

Hi, I'm a Noob here and have done a few "assistant" gigs with others. Ive done trim, int & ext with what I assume were alkyd semi-gloss paint and purdy/armstrong methods and a very occasional rolled room in whatever latex the h.o. bought. It generally turned out well, I'm pretty careful.

This time it is MY house, a prev. rental with unfortunately a history of pets and chainsmoking. (I have asthma) The last renter had cats and kept a litterbox in a closet. The last resident owner had very messy dogs looking at the carpets. (I'm told the carpets were cleaned 2x in 2 yrs, the stains still feel greasy when you slide your shoes on them.) I got a great deal on the house, and I want to take a shot at DIY. I dont think I can afford to pay a pro what their time is worth to do the job, a ballpark estimate was $800 for the ceiling alone. I'm not sure that included paint, I doubt it. (1400 sf 3/2 home w/20x20 garage. I'm guessing min $3200 total, but he hasnt called me back, we both have newborns.

floor plan #1414: http://www.celebrityhomes.com/floorplan.asp?fpid=1

The wallpaper in the kitchen and bath has ripped out by my "helpers" with moderate damage to the rock/mud. (they ran out of remover and went at it with hot water. The rock had not been sized or primed. *shrug*) Helpers have since gone home, wont be back till June.

I've pulled all the faceplates, fixtures and ceiling fan trim plates.

I have already bought Kilz ONE for 7.77/gal to prime with. (6 five gal cans) I estimated it as 1400sf @200sf/gal for popcorn ceilings, 1500sf ballpark + 1400sf @300 sf/gal for walls and slab. I can return an extra full can if I overbought.