Painting Plan - Painting - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 06-14-2013, 12:15 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 75

Painting Plan

So I am painting tomorrow and I haven't painted in several years. I am a decent painter with tape :-) but this time I want to try to do it with out tape and and I want to spray the trim. I have watched some good videos and read some great advice on cutting in here on this forum. My question is about spraying the trim.

I owned a rental home once and used to spray quite a bit but I always masked off the walls when spraying trim. We just bought a foreclosure and we plan to paint everything but the ceilings. The carpet will be replaced as well. Also, where I am spraying there is no ceiling trim, only base, windows and doors.

My plan is to spray all the trim with semi-gloss and not mask the carpet or the walls since the carpet will be replaced and we intend to roll the walls.

I am concerned about the "flashing" on the walls from the semi and I am looking for advice.

The steps in my head now are...

1. Spray all the trim and doors with a 213 tip, allowing over-spray on the walls and carpet.
2. Sand wall over spray with 120 grit sand paper.
3. Cut in walls with a brush or pad edger.
4. Power roll walls.
5. Cut in again (second coat)
6. Power roll again (second coat)

Any advice?

David

Advertisement

djonesax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 03:53 AM   #2
paper hanger and painter

Rewards Points: 2,240

Painting Plan

If it was me, I would skip the sprayer, pad edger and power roller. Till you get done cleaning up all those tools, you could paint a whole other room.

Advertisement

chrisn is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to chrisn For This Useful Post:
Gymschu (06-14-2013), joecaption (06-14-2013), MTN REMODEL LLC (06-14-2013)
Old 06-14-2013, 04:10 AM   #3