Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-09-2010, 08:53 AM   #1

Share |

painting over silicone caulk

I started painting the overhang on my house. I used a clear silicone (GE brand) caulk thinking I'd paint over it with Zinsser Latex Primer. Wrong! Why doesn't paint adhere to silicone caulk? Any sugggestions for prepping it so it would accept the paint? And just when I was getting to be a "smarty pants".

Last edited by momof2labs; 09-09-2010 at 08:54 AM. Reason: spelling
momof2labs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 09:38 AM   #2
Do work

remove the silicone and replace it with latex caulk. It will take the paint much better.

liquidvw is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to liquidvw For This Useful Post:
momof2labs (09-12-2010)
Old 09-09-2010, 09:42 AM   #3

Normally you canít paint over silicone caulk because the paint wonít stick to it but if you pour a little denatured alcohol on a rag and wipe the alcohol across the surface of the silicone caulk, the alcohol acts like sandpaper and will make the caulk less shiny and smooth and the alcohol will evaporate so there is no need to dry the silicone after you wipe it down.

Now apply a very thin layer of siliconized acrylic latex caulk (which is paintable) over the silicone to paint over it. The second caulk will adhere to the silicone and make its surface a bit rougher and even more paintable. Allow it to dry thoroughly before you paint over it. After it is thoroughly dry use a brush and good oil based primer, you might have to apply two coats of primer to be able to paint over the silicone caulking. Also make sure you allow the primer to dry thoroughly before you proceed.

Now that your primer is dry and ready you can apply your finished coat but it also has to be oil based paint and youíre done.

epson is offline   Reply With Quote