Painting Over Existing Paint - Painting - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-23-2013, 01:08 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Painting over existing paint

I'm painting a bedroom for a nursery. The current paint is white semi-gloss/eggshell. It also has kind of a bubble texture and not flat. The paint is still good but the wife just wants a new color.

Should I:
A. Just paint over the existing paint with a paint+primer(Glidden Duo). I've been reading and I know it's not really recommended and Glidden is probably not the best brand, but with a new baby on the way the budget is a little tight.

B. Prime then paint over existing paint.

C. Sand, Prime, and paint? Will the bubble texture effect the sanding? would I need to sand it smooth first before priming and painting?

Thanks in advance for all the suggestions. I've never done any painting before and I'm clueless.

Advertisement

cyang023 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 04:00 AM   #2
paper hanger and painter

Rewards Points: 2,234

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyang023 View Post
I'm painting a bedroom for a nursery. The current paint is white semi-gloss/eggshell. It also has kind of a bubble texture and not flat. The paint is still good but the wife just wants a new color.

Should I:
A. Just paint over the existing paint with a paint+primer(Glidden Duo). I've been reading and I know it's not really recommended and Glidden is probably not the best brand, but with a new baby on the way the budget is a little tight.

C. Sand, Prime, and paint? Will the bubble texture effect the sanding? would I need to sand it smooth first before priming and painting?

Thanks in advance for all the suggestions. I've never done any painting before and I'm clueless.

what is this?

Advertisement

chrisn is online now   Reply With Quote