Painting My Bedroom - Painting - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-29-2008, 10:48 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Exclamation

Painting my bedroom

I live in Southern California and planning to paint my bedroom. I have multiple questions. Im planning to redo my bedroom (roughly 15ftx15ft). I currently have orange peel texture on the wall and I currently bought 6 gallons (2x 48lb box) of topping compound.
This is my first time texturing and painting. You know, save some money and learn new things.
  1. What texture should I put on the wall before I paint; Vertical brush stroke, flat, or just leave the orange peel?
  2. What color best match my cherry wood furniture?
  3. Which brand of interior paint is best or good enough?
  4. Asuming it's dark color paint, how many coats of paint?
  5. Should I primer before texturing and if so, after texturing should i reprimer?
  6. How many gallons of paint and primer should I buy?
I am thinking of dark deep red, almost red-brown look.
I am hoping to get as much information as possible. All opinions are welcome. I will post the after picture, once I am done with my bedroom and yes I got a new comferter that is dark red, that I haven't put on yet untill i'm done with the project.I know this is a lot of question, please help me out!
Attached Thumbnails
Painting my bedroom-bedroom.jpg  

Advertisement

Last edited by r3dmonk3y; 12-29-2008 at 11:17 AM.
r3dmonk3y is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 10:12 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 25

Painting my bedroom

I wouldn't change the texture on your walls unless you hate it or you want to have some fun learning how to texture.