Painting A Metal Building. - Painting - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-22-2006, 08:30 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Painting a metal building.

I am sure for many of you this seems like a basic question. But I am very new to painting so please allow me this.

I have been prepping a metal storage building for the coming rainy season. I have removed the rust, and applied primer.

My question now is: I am ready to paint it, and I have an airless sprayer. I have never used the sprayer and curious as to what type of paint should be used. I can not consult the manual as it is no longer here. (previous workers lost it).

Any help and additional instructions/tips are greatly appreciated.

Paul

Advertisement

okinawap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2006, 09:46 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 250

All you need to do is put a spray tip to match your paint Oil ot latex ( theres tips for either)and thin around 10% but make sure the paint can be thinned.
So what kind of Paint are you useing for your final coats and what is your sprayer ?

Advertisement

Darylh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2006, 09:49 AM   #3

I'm having the sprayer brought over to me tomorrow. I work nights, and the day crew operates in another building. I will post more information tomorrow after I get the sprayer and the paint info. I do appreciate you taking the time to enlighten me! I was beginning to wonder if anyone would respond!
Old 05-25-2006, 03:56 AM   #4

Ok, I have a Campbell Hausfeld airless sprayer system. I was able to get to their website and download the manual. Now I'm trying to locate a suitable paint.

Can someone explain to me how to estimate the amount needed for a job? The buildings dimensions are 18'L x 9'W x 10'H.

Thanks.
Old 05-25-2006, 09:20 AM   #5

Rewards Points: 250