Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-28-2013, 10:31 AM   #1

Share |

Painting Iron Fence

I am looking to repaint my driveway entry gate this spring and am looking for the most efficient way to do it; obviously I want the best results as well. The gate was installed 2-3 years ago and is in great shape. There are no obvious rust spots, so prep should be minimal (good washing, etc..). I'm aware that most people paint these with brush/small roller, but I was wondering about the possibility of spraying. I have a large compressor, capable of handling the task, but don't any HVLP type guns. Is spraying a good option or not? Any advice is appreciated? Scott

simeltzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 11:59 AM   #2
Stuck in the 70's

Painting Iron Fence

Got a pic?

I'm no expert, but I've painted a lot of small stuff with rattle cans. It seems to me spraying would waste an awful lot of paint.
You also want to consider what is nearby that will get painted as well (unintentionally).

A paint mitt might be an option.

Last edited by Blondesense; 03-28-2013 at 12:03 PM.
Blondesense is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 05:44 PM   #3

Painting Iron Fence

Post a pic.
jsheridan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 06:10 PM   #4

Painting Iron Fence

You'd be surprised how fast it would go with a Whiz roller.Hardly any brush work required if it's what I think it is.Yes, please post a pic.
Gymschu (03-29-2013)
Old 03-29-2013, 08:04 AM   #5
Too Short? Cut it Again!

Painting Iron Fence

If it is in great shape? Why do you feel the need to paint it?

If it is metal and factory finish other than electroplate or something you should use a rust inhibiting or even a rust converting paint product. If you were my client, I would offer to nail you suggesting to prep and prime it with such a product and then put a rust inhibiting product over the top.