Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-23-2010, 09:42 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

painting existing room - what paint to use? and steps to prepare?

So we just recently got a home and are expecting our first kid in June. we wanted to paint a nursery.

from the looks of it, the wall is textured and the existing paint is white with a little gloss to it.

do the walls need to be prepped in some way?

any suggestions on paint brushes/rollers?

as for paint, we were on a budget so around 30-40/gallon would be what we wanted to spend. I was originally going to get behr premium plus, but from reading all the "good things" said about it on this forum, it looks like that would not be a good choice. I noticed someone mentioned sherwin williams promar 200, would that be a good choice? As this is for a nursery is the paint good for babies?

sorry for all the questions, as this is my first time, i kind of want to do this the right way.

any help is greatly appreciated!

wakko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2010, 09:56 AM   #2

Hello all,

So i bought some sherwin williams harmony (eggshell) paint this weekend. and still need some tools to paint. I've been looking up the tools suggested on this forum.

My list of tools to buy:
1" & 2.5" purdy angle brush
Wooster Roller
1/2" nap cover purdy - is that golden one ok? or do is the white dove that much better?
5gallon bucket to clean supplies
paint tray & liners
3m blue tape.

Anything else I would need?

some of the walls have marks from furniture, but the paint isn't rubbed/scratched. marks are dark and it looks like its from black plastic or something. how would you suggest cleaning this? just a sponge and some soapy water?

Old 04-27-2010, 01:04 PM   #3

I'm a homeowner hack, but I'll chime in with what I feel is good advice. Feel free to "factcheck" me.