Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-15-2011, 10:49 AM   #1

Share |

Painting Detached Garage Exterior

I am a beginner at painting so I thought I would put down what I think needs to be done then list some questions I have. If anything should be done differently please let me know I would appreciate it.

I need to remove all light fixtures and electrical outlets then need to pressure wash the siding then fill in the nails heads with spackle or putty. Then once I’m sure the garage is dried I can start putting the primer on. I was planning on using a roller and brush to paint the garage. Then once the primer dries I can apply a coat of the paint then once that dries I should apply a second coat of paint. Then after that I should put some primer on the trim then putty in the nails then paint two coats on the trim then once that is done I was going to put some primer on the metal garage door then apply two coats of paint to the garage door.

Below are some questions that I have.

Since I just had the garage built and it has new siding on it do I still need to pressure wash or sand the siding?

Do people normally tape off the trim? I didn’t know if this matters or not say if I get a little bit of exterior paint on the trim can I just put the primer over it then paint the trim or do I need to sand off the paint on the trim first. Or should I just tape it off to avoid any problems.

Do people normally tape off exterior windows and doors / garage doors?

Should I mix all of the paint in five gallon buckets before I paint so the paint matches better? If so should I also add like an 1/8 of a cup of water to it so it mixes better?