Painting On Builder's Paint/primer In New Condo - Painting - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-23-2010, 02:46 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Painting on Builder's paint/primer in new condo

Hi Everyone,

I need your expert recommendation as i am a total newbie. Here is the situation:

We are moving into a new condo that has never been lived in, though there are some small pencil marks in the entrance area that can probably be removed by an eraser. The paint (or maybe it is just primer) is the builder's white.

Here is what we want to do: Repaint with a new light color, say beige FLAT (or MATT) type color in the living room and bedroom, and perhaps kitchen too. We will have dark brown furniture, and the wood in the kitchen is also dark bown. The batroom is another thing, but i will deal with it in another topic once we get to that stage, as i am guessing the paint/primer would have to be different.

So, the question is, in your experience, do you believe i need a gray primer for using a sort of white / beige color on top of the builder's white or primer (i cant tell if it is primer or just paint)? I was originally thinking no, but now i am not sure. I was about to buy Behr Premium Ultra paints not to resolve the primer issue specifically, but just to be on the safer side. Pls treat the type of paint i am using seperately from the primer subjet. If you have a recomendation on the brand of paint, pls be specific in giving the type you recommend as well, so i can rechearch it and find the specific type in the store. I know i have to use Mat (Flat), and i am going to guess pll are going to recommend against the 2 in one paint (paint and primer in one) as it is not really the same strength as primer first, then paint, but my case is perhaps a bit different.

Thank you in advance.

Advertisement

zfarsh is offline   Reply With Quote