Painting Bedroom Door - Painting - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-02-2011, 08:11 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Smile

Painting Bedroom Door

I have an unpainted (stained) bedroom door with some semi-deep scratches in it. I want to paint the door, closet door (same type wood, I'm guessing plywood) and all the molding/door frame (I believe stained oak) the color of the walls....what are the steps I need to take? And what type of products do I need to use? I'm a newbie so go easy on me

Advertisement

digger59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 09:25 AM   #2

Painting Bedroom Door

1. Start by filling the scratches. I use a two part filler made by bondo. You can purchase this at any of the big box stores int he paint department. You might be able to use spackle paste, though it usually will not adhere well.

2. Sand the filler and all areas to be painted with 120-150 grit sandpaper.

3. Prime. I use Zinsser Bullseye 1-2-3 waterborne. It dries fast and will block the stain from bleeding through your top coat (this is a very necessary step). Sand lightly with 180 grit sandpaper.

4. I recommend a 100% acrylic top coat. My favorite is Porter Manor Hall, it is pricey but it lays out very nice and smooth. Benjamin Moore Impervo 100% acrylic is awesome also. Sherwin-Williams Pro Classic 100% acrylic is very good also. 1 quart will be enough for 1 door and casing.

5. Caulk the joints between jamb and casing and door panels if it is a paneled door.

Good luck and let us know how it turned out.

Advertisement

handyanswerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 02:28 PM   #3
Super Master Painter

Rewards Points: 250

Painting Bedroom Door

1- sand the wood trim down with 80-120 paper then dust it off