Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-10-2009, 02:48 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Paint walls or install trim?

We are in the process of adding a new bathroom as part of a basement finish. The walls are primed, the ceiling has a finish coat, and the tile floor is installed. I'd like to paint the walls now, while there are no bathroom fixtures and while minimal taping will be required. Will I run into any problems if I paint the walls now, have the plumber do his work second, and then finish by installing the (already painted) trim? The only issue I can think of is that I will have to fill the nail holes and do a bit of touch up painting in those areas. However, I am far from an expert...are there any other problems might I run into doing it this way?

raida357 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 03:28 PM   #2
Remodeling Contractor

Rewards Points: 2,000

not the way we would normally do it, but there will be no problem other than the one you mentioned. If using a vanity cabinet, the trim would need to end at the cabinet.

Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 07:13 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 250

That's actually the way I do it. It cuts down on the painting time drastically and leaves a cleaner looking job without the cutting brush marks. You may have to do some quick touch up at the very end of the job but that's it. You're just thinkin' smarter, not workin' harder.
Old 11-10-2009, 07:17 PM   #4

Rewards Points: 75

Are you planning to caulk the trim to the wall?
waynech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 07:23 AM   #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by waynech View Post
Are you planning to caulk the trim to the wall?
I am planning on nailing the trim to the wall and only using caulk on the edge if necessary. Is this the preferred method? I am open to any ideas.
Old 11-11-2009, 07:31 AM   #6