Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-02-2011, 02:10 PM   #1
Is this wire Hot?

Rewards Points: 150

Paint Sprayer Gone Wild

Hi. I'm a newbie to using a paint spray gun. I got a siphon type sprayer to use with an air compressor. The siphon is from the small jar on the sprayer, not a hose to a bucket. My first attempt was to spray primer on some metal radiator covers. The paint seemed to go on fairly well, but the room I was in filled up with so much mist that it looked like it might rain. The room was about 11x20 and it was filled with this mist which I assume was overspray. Fortunately the room was gutted for remodeling, so no harm done, but should I be making this much mist? The directions on the sprayer say to set the pressure at 40-60, so I set it at 40.

Also, the compressor cycles after only 20 seconds of spraying and it isn't a small compressor. It's a DeWalt twin tank, I think it is like 4.6cfm or such. Any suggestions besides getting a respirator (which I already did)?

Oh-Fudge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2011, 02:11 PM   #2
Rubbin walls since'79

Rewards Points: 2,000

Paint Sprayer Gone Wild

First- what are you painting, and why did you decide to spray it?

Brushjockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2011, 02:26 PM   #3
Is this wire Hot?

Paint Sprayer Gone Wild

Painting metal baseboard radiator covers using Rustoleum primer. Wanted to spray them to have a nice even coat and no brush marks. But my main questions are - should a sprayer make that much overspray and use that much compressed air, or am I doing something wrong?
Old 09-02-2011, 02:28 PM   #4
Rubbin walls since'79

Paint Sprayer Gone Wild

No it shouldn't, but a conventional will make some overspray.
There are both fluid and air adjustments on gun. Plus the viscosity of the paint. The trick is to balance the tree till it works how you want it to.