Paint Removal - Painting - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-19-2014, 09:08 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Question

Paint Removal

Greetings fellow DIY folks,

I am attempting to remove the paint from a banister and spindles. I also will be removing paint from the dining room entry frame and door frames. I am at a loss becuase I am not sure about what to use. I was told several different things work best. Someone suggested using Jasco paint remover, Smart Strip, then there was peel away 1 or 7, and the "Real" Speedheater (looks real tempting). Are there better products to use? They all seem to have some pro's but I am a novice at this and want the job to go as quickly and smoothly as possible. Any suggestions? I know at some point, I will have to do some scraping to get rid of some paint. Is this a DIY or should I have professional come and do it?

I want to get rid of the current paint and get down to the original wood (but dont damage), then shellac.

It appears that I have several layers on the stairway but dont know how many. I have attached a picture to show exactly what I am working with.

Thanks in advance for your comments and suggestions!!
Attached Thumbnails
Paint Removal-steps.jpg  

Advertisement

ratch333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 09:54 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 2,686

Paint Removal

In this instance I would have a pro come look at it. With some of the strippers you named they will remove the paint, but they can change the color of the wood or leave black streaks. This is OK if you want to repaint but if you want to stain and clear finish you don't want this. Some strippers leave the wood spongey and almost all will raise the grain. A lot of work with a heat gun and scrappers and dental picks may be the way to go.

Advertisement

ToolSeeker is offline   Reply With Quote