Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-15-2013, 03:10 PM   #1

Share |
Question

Paint prep bondo

I am new to this site. I am an out of work plumber/pipefiter . I am currently prepping my house to paint. It is my first time painting anything other than an interior sheet rock wall. I am a very meticulous person.

I went around the whole house with a pair of grinders with a cut off wheel and a flap disc cutting off and grinding down passed flush all the nails that were poking through the ply wood as well as sanding all areas such as where the nails split off a large chunk of wood, as well as all of the biscuts (i was told they were called this the little football shaped spots on ply wood)I finished applying the bondo and started sanding it yesterday.

I noticed that the sand paper on both the orbital sander and square pad palm sander would gum up a lot as well as sometimes leave a patch of what I thought was just paint dust that formed a putty. I would scrape off what I could on sand paper and ply wood.

This morning I sanded a spot that just seamed to smear around a little ( it looked like the bondo would look if I mixed too much or took too long to spread it out where it got thick and hard if not impossible to spread smooth and thin.) I asked a contractor buddy of mine who is a jack(ass) of all trades master of none type. He said I did not add enough hardener as it should be pink to light red in color and its mostly grey slightly darker than it was without hardener .