Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-18-2007, 10:24 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Unhappy

Paint confusion

Hi, I am new to this DIY Chatroom. I have done lots of research on paint brands only to become more and more confused. I went to the library and checked out the CR ratings for paint. As someone previously said, they rated Behr, Valspar, and Kilz the top three brands. However, in checking out painting websites, the top brands seem to be Benjamin Moore and Sherwin Williams. We are building a new house and the painter came and talked to me about paint. He only uses Rodda, but I have heard nothing (good or bad) about it. He works with a local dealer. He will use whatever I want because as he said the cost for painting is in the labor. I want the best since we are in our 50's and don't want to paint again for many years. Please help me with some wise cousel in this decision. I live in a small town and there is an Ace Hardware store and a Sherwin Williams and a Lowe's. I have a little time. The outside is almost finished being sided and the insulation went inside yesterday. Thanks so much for any advice you can give. Oh yea, I live in the Pacific Northwest and we have lots of rain and wind and drizzle....not much really hot weather. Thanks again.

kathgip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2007, 12:34 PM   #2
Pro Painter

Rewards Points: 250

Paint confusion

Quote:
Originally Posted by kathgip View Post