Paint/Applicator Review From A DIY'r - Painting - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-27-2010, 05:19 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Paint/Applicator review from a DIY'r

As the title mentions, I'm not a pro. I'm just an average schmuck that was too poor to hire a pro to paint several rooms in my house.
Either way, I am approaching the end of my large (for me) painting project, and I thought I'd share my thoughts on the products I used.

First off, i should mention the color wheel we used to choose colors. My wife and I are definitely NOT interior decorators.....and we can't afford to hire one either So we needed help. The local BM shop had an Affinity color wheel that we purchased. It was a godsend. 144 colors that all coordinate with each other (for the most part).
1- We didn't have to ask ourselves "does this color go with that color". The color wheel took that out of the equation.
2- There are only 144 colors in the Affinity pallete. The standard SW color wheel I have has eleventy-billion colors. Less colors actually made the decision loads easier. We also prefer "quieter" colors, so the Affinity line is right up our alley. SW might want to consider dumbed down version of their color wheel. What percentage of their customers want to view 30 versions of ultra-bright yellow and electric blue. Imean, those colors exsist for a reason, I just think a smaller color wheel, void of radical colors, is beneficial for the average DIY'r. Thats what the BM dealer sold us.

PAINTS: