Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 06-04-2013, 10:52 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Nightmare Trim

First, I want to disclaim that I am a total newbie to DIY home improvement outside of basic painting so any "dumbing down" is appreciated.

Recently purchased an old 1910's colonial house and while repainting most of the rooms, I discovered several problems with the trim. It's really the trifecta of problems.

1. The painter's tape lifted off portions of the existing trim paint in several areas - windows, fireplace, crown molding, etc. In these areas, you can literally peel it off in sheets. Once this happened in one room, I didn't tape the other rooms but it is already occurring on the window cases throughout the home.

2. The trim in every room is a different shade of off-white except for the living room which appears to be more recently done. The other rooms are all varying shades of mid to dark beige which I really dislike.

3. The third problem is that the previous homeowners did a less than stellar job of painting and their wall colors bled onto the trim in many areas so there are no sharp lines between trim and wall. If the color was consistent from room to room I would consider trying to match the color and spot paint these areas.

Whatever the remedy is, it needs to be something that I can do myself and replacing it is not an option, unfortunately. I realize that fixing just the problem areas is a temporary measure but it may be all I can do.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Silverpointe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 05:06 AM   #2
paper hanger and painter

Rewards Points: 2,194

Nightmare Trim

Hate to tell you but, it sounds to me like somebody painted latex over oil without proper prep. The only solution is to remove the peeling latex and start over with PROPER prep work. Sorry.

chrisn is offline   Reply With Quote