Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-30-2012, 08:33 PM   #1
Deck Staining Pro

Share |

Newbie Interior painting question

By the way, thank you to everyone here for all the great info. I stain decks for a living but never done much painting. I'm in my off season so I'm tackling painting the interior of my own home, did a lot of reading on old threads!

What I couldn't figure out is if I can cut in one day and roll the next day? I'd like to do all the cutting in (around crown, baseboards, windows, etc) one day and roll everything the following day. Or do I need to keep a wet edge. The paint is SW Cashmere Flat if it makes a difference.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

"Bringing New life to Old Wood"
bigchaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 08:47 PM   #2
Rubbin walls since'79

Yes it makes a difference. To my knowledge ( and I am not fond of SW- so I am biased..) it is only the new tints like Gennex ( BM) that let you do that.
Old 12-30-2012, 09:45 PM   #3
Deck Staining Pro

Forgive my confusion, are you saying I do or do not need to keep a wet edge when cutting and rolling a wall?

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Old 12-30-2012, 09:51 PM   #4
Rubbin walls since'79

Wet edge... well- you are using cashmere.So I am not sure. But with BM's aura you need to pay some attention. But you can cut in and roll (tight) later. In fact it is the recommended way with gennex products.. SW does not have that tint system.

Last edited by Brushjockey; 12-30-2012 at 09:56 PM.
Brushjockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 09:56 PM   #5
Deck Staining Pro