Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-30-2006, 07:59 PM   #1
fp1

Share |

Newbie here and need advice...

I just bought a large condo and unfortunately the previous owner was some kind of artist and thus the walls and celings are painted all types of colors I do not like.

Nonetheless, I want to go from a blue celing to a basic white, not too bright. I also want to go from a pinkish/red wall to a light shade of green.

Questions for those with more knowledge than myself:

1. Do I need a primer before I apply the paint or can I just go with 2 coats of paint? I presume primer would be needed.

2. What type of paint should I use? Flat, Semi-Gloss, recommended brands?

3. What kind of paint should I used in a kitchen area. It is a galley style kitchen so there is really only one wall? I want to go from a gold-type color to a shade of yellow. Should I use a primer there as well?

Thank you in advance for any responses.

fp1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2006, 09:23 PM   #2
remodeling pro