Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 06-09-2008, 02:31 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Need Lots O' Help

Here is the deal... My wife and I just bought our first home. It's a forclosure we got an unbelievable deal on. The only problem??? There are 9... yes count them 9... different colors downstairs alone! We want to keep some of the paint and try to narrow it down to a few colors.

I'm new to painting. I painted once before and it was a nightmare... the typical stuff: rollar marks, brush marks, etc.... End result was garbage paint job. I don't want that to happen again.

I'm attaching pictures of the house. The common thought seems to be that the reason for painting disasters is usually the paint purchased not so much the painter. We have lots of dark colors we have to paint over so I want to make the right paint choice. We want paint that will do the job but at the same time we are on a tight budget. So what's your best advice. Paint brand and line? Sheen? (we have two young boys so we are thinking satin for everything - we don't want lots of shine but we want something a little forgiving).

One last thing. I hear two lines of thinking with painting over dark paint. One group says you must primer. The other says it's a waste of time and doesn't make a difference. So which group is right?

Thanks!

iamcalebo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2008, 07:13 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 502

Need Lots O' Help

That reminds me a lot of our house, which wasn't even a foreclosure. Here is what you have to do:

1. Remove the wallpaper borders. Use a perforation tool, hot DIF, and a wallpaper scraper. All three products should be available at your local big box. If the border removal causes your drywall to rip down to the paper, which then "fuzzes", or any glue is left behind, coat with Zinsser Gardz.