DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

need idea's or help on team themed bedroom for my son

4K views 15 replies 4 participants last post by  jpc 
#1 ·
I started my home renovation/repair/remodel about six months ago,as im at wall stage of it and then almost done, in my sons room, I bought the L.A. Lakers purple and gold themed paint . My problem is i dont know how i want the to use the colors, Im lacking in the creative department, From floor to ceiling Ive got new red oak hardwood flooring, 3 1/2 inch paint grade basemoulding, Casing, walls and some 2 1/2 inch crown at top, all paint grade, all sanded, primed and ready to go , If any help advice or ideas come to mind i would appreciate it, thanks again

#4 ·
I am a painting contractor and did a boy's bedroom some years ago that was sports themed. One thing to keep in mind is that how you want the room to look a few years from now, when tastes change, could be very different. You can make your "next faze" easier if you keep that in mind. I would do the trim i.e. the crown, baseboards and door/window casings in a neutral off white. Purple and gold are both strong colors, to much of a good thing is hard to live with. What I did in the bedroom was to add 1 1/2" beaded mullion 12" apart at chairrail height and stenciled footballs, softballs, basketballs and other sport items in the middle of the mullion (I would do this on an off white background so the items show up well) You could do just the basketballs and LA logos. Above the chairrail do the gold and below the purple. My like is to add the weight to the bottom of the room, much of the purple would be hidden from sight with furniture and the gold on top would make the room warmer and brighter.

#7 ·