Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-18-2013, 08:09 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

Need help figuring out how to finish knotty pine

We have an unheated entryway that is small, about 6ft x 6ft. We finished installing knotty pine tongue and grove paneling, new trim around the windows and the doors, (2 doors, 2 windows), and a new crown molding and baseboard, last fall. We have left it as is since last fall, haven't even filled the finish nail holes. So the pine color has started to darken already.

I would like to get this finished before winter and I'm running out of time. I see we are about to reach 40F overnight early next week for one day then go back up into the high 40s the rest of the week, so I would really like to figure this out and get it done quickly, but I'm not experienced with stains and poly coatings, only some painting experience.

I have been reading how to finish knotty pine this week and I was not expecting the amount of work suggested. My understanding at this point, is that I should sand it, stain it, sand again, apply poly, sand again, apply poly, fill finish nail holes with a wax pencil filler that matches the finished color. That is way more work than I want to do. I also have concerns about toxic fumes, all that sawdust, and if it is not done exactly right, ending up with peeling and/or blistering at some point in the future requiring more work.