Need Advice Using Insl-x Cabinet Coat - Painting - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-26-2012, 10:30 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Need advice using Insl-x Cabinet Coat

I'm in the process of painting a really nice oak dresser with Cabinet Coat and it's not quite turning out how I had hoped.

The dresser had some kind of lacquer/urethane glaze on it that was worn off in a few spots, but overall the top and drawer fronts were pretty smooth from the start. The grain on the front and sides is more "open" - very open in some spots.

Anyway, I'm a great painter (walls) and have refinished wood furniture before (mostly maple and walnut), but have never painted furniture and haven't worked with oak.

I did a ton of research and after consulting with my BM guy and online, I decided to prime with STIX and use Cabinet Coat for the paint. I'm primarily using a Wooster Chinex brush except for the top and sides - using a microfiber roller for that. Also, been careful to work quickly and maintain a wet edge.

I knew going into this that if I didn't fill the grain, it would show. But because this is already a "new" project, I didn't want to turn it into a part time job (too late for that now!) by adding the grain filling step. I initially decided I was OK with a subtle grain, which I would "fill" a bit by putting a few extra coats on.

At this point, I've done 3 coats of primer (very thin) and two coats of CC (very thin) and I feel like I'm getting nowhere! I started off with a really good sanding (didn't strip though) and I've done a liberal sand with 220 between each coat. The tops and drawers look just OK (some grain showing), but the sides and front of the dresser still have gaping holes! OK, I'm being slightly melodramatic, but it's not a subtle grain that I thought I would get.