Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-19-2013, 06:23 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: central Florida
Posts: 1,201
Blog Entries: 5
Share |
Default

was my paint shaken enough?


Bought a gallon of gray at SW today. This is Harmony. I've painted my entire house with SW Super paint, using 5 different colors and never had this happen before.

When I opened the gray and poured some into a pan there were a few black streaks. Black was one of the tints. This gray is no darker than other shades I've used. Just a different color.

I have to go back tomorrow for a new roller so might take the remainder of the paint to be shaken again.

Startingover is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2013, 06:55 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cape May, NJ
Posts: 2,392
Default

was my paint shaken enough?


Probably not shaken enough. I had one one time that wasn't shaken at all, tints just floating. I had another on a multiple gallon order that was labeled but never shot at all. It happens. It could also have been a tinting mistake, like maybe the wrong base if it's bad enough. Once a base is saturated, meaning it's at its max tinting level, it will no longer absorb tint and the excess will simply end up swirling around perpetually. Colors that approach max tint level for the base will usually reflect a little swirl but not enough to make a difference. Take it back and ask them to shake it again, longer this time.

jsheridan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jsheridan For This Useful Post:
Startingover (04-19-2013)
Old 04-19-2013, 06:56 PM   #3
Rubbin walls since'79
 
Brushjockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Mn
Posts: 2,518
Default

was my paint shaken enough?


They usually send you out the door with a wooden stir stick. Use it.
Everytime I pop a can I give it a stir. Every .Time.
__________________
"It's better to come here with questions before you screw up than to come here after and ask how to fix them."- JS
Brushjockey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Brushjockey For This Useful Post:
daveplot (04-21-2013), jsheridan (04-19-2013), Startingover (04-19-2013), ToolSeeker (04-20-2013), user1007 (04-20-2013)
Old 04-19-2013, 08:10 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,215
Default

was my paint shaken enough?


I bought two of these, one for a 5 gal. and a smaller one for a 1 gal. bucket.
Amazing how it works, it draws all the paint from the bottom to the top of the can super fast for a total remix.
http://www.bing.com/shopping/red-dev...rrer&FORM=HURE

I've never used a paint stick since I bought them. Far faster.
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joecaption For This Useful Post:
Startingover (04-19-2013)
Old 04-19-2013, 09:10 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 430
Default

was my paint shaken enough?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Startingover View Post
Bought a gallon of gray at SW today. This is Harmony. I've painted my entire house with SW Super paint, using 5 different colors and never had this happen before.

When I opened the gray and poured some into a pan there were a few black streaks. Black was one of the tints. This gray is no darker than other shades I've used. Just a different color.

I have to go back tomorrow for a new roller so might take the remainder of the paint to be shaken again.
Hiya SO,

Was the paint shaken up to begin with? If so, what you're describing is probably not due to the paint non being shaken up enough...What you're most likely experiencing is a not-so-uncommon phenomena called "synoreces" (and, yes, I'm sure that was spelled wrong). New formulations of paint necessary to gain VOC compliancy has resulted in a series of unintended consequences in the behavior of paint. One of the consequences of removing specific solvents (even from latex paints) results in a resin that begins to cure with even nominal exposure to air - even the amount of air between the level of paint in a can and the can lid.

Without these specific solvents to retard the resins want to cure, new, slower drying, exempt solvents have been added to the product to serve no other purpose than to "float" to the surface and act as a barrier to the layer of air in the can. This solvent float is clear, but will attract glycol, containing traces of tinting colorants, and appear on the surface most often as a black, gray, silver (etc) "stain"...

This "float" may begin within minutes, to a few hours, after paint has been shaken and is perfectly harmless to the product. It mixes back into the paint easily, or may be poured off before painting. To take the can back to SW to shake won't hurt anything, but it won't stop the process from happening again, though. Good luck and happy painting.
ric knows paint is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ric knows paint For This Useful Post:
ddawg16 (04-21-2013), Startingover (04-19-2013)
Old 04-19-2013, 09:24 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: central Florida
Posts: 1,201
Blog Entries: 5
Default

was my paint shaken enough?


ric, that was interesting and made sense. Harmony is a lower VOC so I do believe it.

joe, that's a good idea on the stirrer.
Startingover is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2013, 09:38 PM   #7
Rubbin walls since'79
 
Brushjockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Mn
Posts: 2,518
Default

was my paint shaken enough?


Great! I say just pull out the stick and stir- ric says why to do that!

And joe says how to over do that!!

All is right with the world!
__________________
"It's better to come here with questions before you screw up than to come here after and ask how to fix them."- JS
Brushjockey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Brushjockey For This Useful Post:
Blondesense (04-20-2013), chrisn (04-20-2013), Startingover (04-20-2013), user1007 (04-20-2013)
Old 04-20-2013, 03:56 AM   #8
paper hanger and painter
 
chrisn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Hagerstown MD
Posts: 6,689
Default

was my paint shaken enough?


Hummmm, cheap drill, $45, paint stirring attachment,$4

Stir stick, FREE
chrisn is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to chrisn For This Useful Post:
Startingover (04-20-2013)
Old 04-20-2013, 05:48 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: ontario canada
Posts: 675
Default

was my paint shaken enough?


but it took 1 whole tree to make that 1 paint stick! think of the environment!!!
princelake is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to princelake For This Useful Post:
Startingover (04-20-2013)
Old 04-20-2013, 06:00 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 101
Default

was my paint shaken enough?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Brushjockey View Post
They usually send you out the door with a wooden stir stick. Use it.
Everytime I pop a can I give it a stir. Every .Time.
This, always stir the paint before using.
JMDPainting is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to JMDPainting For This Useful Post:
Startingover (04-20-2013)
Old 04-20-2013, 06:02 AM   #11
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 21,415
Default

was my paint shaken enough?


Not exactly on topic----but always 'box' your paint---

Box?---When you get multiple gallons for a room, dump them all into a clean bucket and stir them all together---

This will help you avoid the heartbreaking situation that occurs when the last gallon is noticably off color---and you have to repaint the entire room----

Every experienced painter I know has a story like that-----
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to oh'mike For This Useful Post:
Startingover (04-20-2013), user1007 (04-20-2013)
Old 04-20-2013, 08:20 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: central Florida
Posts: 1,201
Blog Entries: 5
Default

was my paint shaken enough?


I've heard to always stir but admit I didn't this time. Lesson learned.

ol'Mike, as a novice painter I'm not sure if I'll run out of paint or not. But I do try to stop painting at a certain area, like foyer or short wall, and do the entire section with new paint and not just stop and start in the middle of a big wall. Thanks for explaining what 'boxing' was.

I can't believe I'm almost finished with this 1,430 sf house. Except for some trim, 6 doors, porch ceiling and mst bath, which I'll do at a slower pace.
Startingover is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Startingover For This Useful Post:
oh'mike (04-20-2013)
Old 04-20-2013, 11:04 AM   #13
Too Short? Cut it Again!
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 9,635
Default

was my paint shaken enough?


Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisn View Post
Hummmm, cheap drill, $45, paint stirring attachment,$4

Stir stick, FREE
Yes but the question with both a drill attachment (and you should use 1/2 inch drill with hammer action) or a paint stick is whether to stir in a clockwise or counter-clockwise direction.

If you plan to use the paint and primer in one as a primer, always stir counter-clockwise. Paint should always be stirred, no matter how much it is shaken, in a clockwise direction.

If you are South of the equator reverse this.

Last edited by user1007; 04-20-2013 at 12:18 PM.
user1007 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to user1007 For This Useful Post:
Startingover (04-20-2013)
Old 04-20-2013, 12:12 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: central Florida
Posts: 1,201
Blog Entries: 5
Default

was my paint shaken enough?


sds, does the equator really affect direction of stirring or are you pulling my leg?
Startingover is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2013, 12:16 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: central Florida
Posts: 1,201
Blog Entries: 5
Default

was my paint shaken enough?


deleted. posted in wrong spot


Last edited by Startingover; 04-20-2013 at 07:01 PM.
Startingover is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quick & Dirty Trim Salvage: Spackle to fill Old Chipped Paint? Lovegasoline Painting 13 09-01-2013 12:53 AM
cheap paint in bathroom got mold? mayhem69 Painting 12 05-06-2012 04:46 PM
So many questions where to start?!?!(NEWBIE) painter84 Painting 5 09-15-2008 12:50 PM
Paint will not stick in Bathroom! SGTHetland Painting 9 08-17-2008 11:04 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.