DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

masking off baseboards?

5K views 24 replies 14 participants last post by  diykc 
#1 ·
I would like to just cut in around the baseboards free hand but i end up masking them off because then i cut in the ceiling the paint dripps sometimes down on to the baseboards, is there any way to avoid this?

#2 ·
I'm not a professional painter (but I play one on television.):laughing: Seriously, if you are dripping that much, you have too much paint on the brush.

#6 ·
This is stupid advice and only works if you ALWAYS, and you should, paint out of the original container---whether one or five gallons. Never transfer the uncontaminated paint to another container first. And if you do transfer paint to another container? Always pour that container or drippings from the roller pans or whatever back into the original cans or buckets. :whistling2:

#5 · (Edited)
Or nice paint and a bag of 300/$3 Chinese made brushes? Invest in good tools. Start with a nice, $15-20, angled 2-1/2", angled sash brush. Take care of it. Learn to use it. It will last you a long time.

Of course you should tape and mask until you get better at it. If you can, paint your baseboards last. If you cannot? Watch yourself or find a friend to follow after you with a wet cloth.

#9 ·
No need for getting pissed (why would you?). I am in the US (what difference does it make where on the earth I am located when painting?). I guess the verb "slap" was a bit too strong; I found the following on-line to describe the process I used and that (I assume) you found objectionable . I found a video from Purdy on how to load a brush and it essentially shows what I do:
http://www.purdycorp.com/purdycorp-weblogic/dvd/painting-tips/play/loading_brush/

Another site suggested
(they also used the verb "slap" but modified by the adverb "gently"):