Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-29-2009, 12:05 PM   #1

Share |

masking off baseboards?

I would like to just cut in around the baseboards free hand but i end up masking them off because then i cut in the ceiling the paint dripps sometimes down on to the baseboards, is there any way to avoid this?

PaintedSurface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2009, 12:24 PM   #2
Pro Flooring Installer

masking off baseboards?

I'm not a professional painter (but I play one on television.) Seriously, if you are dripping that much, you have too much paint on the brush.

rusty baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2009, 02:01 PM   #3

masking off baseboards?

Paint out of a container. After you dip the end of the brush into the paint, slap the excess paint off onto the side of the container. I almost never get any drips.
pyper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 12:29 AM   #4

masking off baseboards?

If you're getting a drip from ceiling to floor, you need to re-evaluate a few things. Sounds like you could be using a cheap paint that tends to run.
ConstantChange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 05:42 AM   #5
Too Short? Cut it Again!

masking off baseboards?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ConstantChange View Post
If you're getting a drip from ceiling to floor, you need to re-evaluate a few things. Sounds like you could be using a cheap paint that tends to run.
Or nice paint and a bag of 300/$3 Chinese made brushes? Invest in good tools. Start with a nice, $15-20, angled 2-1/2", angled sash brush. Take care of it. Learn to use it. It will last you a long time.

Of course you should tape and mask until you get better at it. If you can, paint your baseboards last. If you cannot? Watch yourself or find a friend to follow after you with a wet cloth.

Last edited by user1007; 11-30-2009 at 05:53 AM.
user1007 is offline   Reply With Quote