Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-21-2008, 10:42 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Question

Latex paint over oil primer - did I mess up?

Greetings all,

I just started painting a bedroom in my new-to-me old house. The walls have old wallpaper on them that has been painted over before, but probably not painted in the last 30 years. There was smoke staining and marred areas where the furniture bumped against the wall.

Anyway, I tried washing one of the walls with TSP, but it didn't seem to clean anything, just push the grime around and made it streaky and ugly. So I just wiped the rest of the walls down with a damp cloth. I didn't do anything to the ceiling.

I bought some True Value oil-based primer enamel, and used that on everything, including the ceiling, trim, and crown molding. Then I bought some Valspar flat and semi-gloss latex paint. After letting the primer dry over night, I used the flat on the ceiling and the semi-gloss on the trim and crown. It looks good, but only after I finished did I realize that the latex was "soap and water clean up." Uh oh, methinks, oil and water typically don't mix.

Is my paint going to peel off because I used an oil based primer? Is there any way to test it? Just see if it wipes / peels off? I just did it yesterday, so perhaps it is not fully dried / cured yet. Neither of the cans say anything about compatibility on them.

I was going to paint the walls today (blue flat latex), but wanted to get some input first. I don't want to have to do this all over again.

Please help. Worried.

wrighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 12:20 PM   #2
DIY'er

Rewards Points: 0

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrighter View Post
Greetings all,