Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-01-2008, 11:55 AM   #1
Licensed Electrician

Share |

Laminate Counter Tops, clear coat?

Hi Guys,
I'm a licensed electrician in the state of CT and I'm a 24 year old and just bought my first house and re-modeled every room and just finishing up the kitchen, I bought a laminate counter top and installed it and now I'm wondering is there a heavy clear coat or something along those lines that I can put on top of the laminate? Basically I'm trying to get a glass look so it looks more realistic because the laminate is dull and doesn't really have a shine. Any help is greatly appreciated and thanks in advance!!

Joe M
joedreamliner787 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2008, 01:52 PM   #2
Tired, Cold, and Damp

Your local Paint Store should have something
It goes under different names, but usually asking for a "Bar Top" finish gets the point across
That super-thick "polyurethane" stuff you see on bars and restaurant tables

It's usually a two-part system (it's too thick to air dry), you mix it up and pour it on
slickshift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2008, 09:55 PM   #3

The product Slickshift is talking about is Nu Lustre 55 from Swing Paints. It's simply a clear two part epoxy. You mix the two parts together and pour it onto a surface. You have to contain it in some way because when it's first mixed, it'll have the viscosity of syrup, and won't stay where you want it. It'll spill all over everything.

http://www.swingpaints.com/1555.htm

You can't really use that on a prefab counter top because you need some way to contain it as it cures.