Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-28-2012, 12:12 PM   #1

Share |

I used the wrong lacquer - now what can I do?

Hi,

I'm a newbie to this site. To make things easier, I highlighted the main questions I have in bold, all the rest is just background information.

I'm retired in Thailand. I recently had a bed constructed of metal shelving materials, and a plywood top for a latex mattress. The metal part isn't beautiful - it's functional, allowing for storage underneath. The problem is the plywood.

The plywood was low quality, smelled badly of insecticide, and had a rough surface, that would damage the rather fragile mattresses cover. I decided to sand and seal it, hopefully making it smoother, while sealing in any insecticide.

I guess I forgot any lessons learned from watching the New Yankee Workshop, or This Old House. I've been living in Thailand for the last 9 years.

I wanted what Norm Abrams always recommended. But my memory failed me. I wanted to use something that wouldn't smell much. I thought I remembered Polyurethane as being gentle. Was I ever wrong! Double checking using a search engine - in retrospect, I think the finish of choice was an acrylic. So, I think I'm looking for something water-based, rather than solvent-based.

After the first coat the grain was raised considerably - rougher than the plywood before sanding - making a re-sanding and 2nd or 3rd coat necessary. The polyurethane is supposed to be glossy when finished. After the first coat it isn't even close.

I don't think there's a way for me to avoid re-sanding, but could I use something (like an acrylic) over the polyurethane?

If repeated coats would also make it smooth (without re-sanding) then I'm all for it. Please inform me if this might be possible.