Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-25-2012, 11:51 PM   #1

Share |
Question

I need a few questions answered

Hi,

I was recently left a 102 year old 2035 square foot two family home in a will. It is dire need of repainting inside and as such i have been getting estimates from paint contractors for the job. I had a few questions though i am hoping some of you here here might be able to answer for me.

I know there is definitely lead paid in the house but i honestly can't afford to have a lead abatement at the moment. So if i do just decide to have it painted without having the abatement. Is there anything i need to tell or ask / request from the painters?

My second question is i am new to dealing with paint contractors and i am pretty sure i have found the one i am going to go with. He has already given me an estimate for the job and all i need to do now is accept his offer if i so choose.

What i would like to know now is what questions should i be asking him when he comes by again? This will be our second meeting.

Any help answering these questions would be greatly appreciated.

Regards

Theresa

treegreen101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 12:38 AM   #2
Too Short? Cut it Again!

I would ask for the bid, convertible to a contract, in writing. Here anything over $1K is supposed to be on paper. I assume you have checked out that he/she has adequate insurance (and you should add an umbrella liability to you own homeowners if not already in place)?

His/her contract should spell everything out but make sure, in addition to that in writing, you discuss and agree to person to person:

The scope of the work to be performed including repair, prep and painting.

Who besides him/her is going to be working on your property.

The paint and other materials to be used.