Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-04-2013, 11:14 AM   #1

Share |

How to finish the paint on a coffee table?

Hi,

This is my first post on this forum. I'm a complete novice in everything related to manual work... :$

I recently decided to build a coffee table.

I've used a 3/4" plywood which I cut. I then used a trim router to round the edges and sanded it (all this in consultation with staff at home depot...).

My idea was to paint the whole table in a single color. They recommended that I use the following paint: Berh, oil-base semi gloss with enamel (medium base). They told me that the primer was included and that 2 coats would be fine for my project.

I've now done 2 coats with a semi-smooth to semi-rough roller and I'm disappointed that the paint did not turn out smoother. I would like the final product to be very smooth (almost perfect smooth). I was wondering if I did something wrong or whether I should just sand it with a very dense sand paper at this point. Or maybe apply a transparent coating on it?

Any advice would be welcome. Thank you!!

aerolulu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 11:27 AM   #2

You are rarely going to get a smooth surface with a roller. Use a good quality paintbrush, such as a Purdy. Or roll it on first, then back brush it with your paint brush.

I've heard one can get a fairly smooth finish with a foam roller, but I haven't any experience with them. Someone may come along here and chime in.

You can sand what you've already painted ... I'd probably use about a 175 grit, maybe 200 ... Before brushing on your next coat.

Next time, though, go to a real paint store such as Sherwin-Williams or Benjamin Moore. Higher quality of paint ... although Behr is getting better than they used to be.