DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

Hairline Cracks after painting

13K views 8 replies 5 participants last post by  Jonesey 
#1 ·
Hi All,

Can somebody tell me what I am doing wrong? Before painting the house, I washed off the mildew with Jomax, powersanded it to a smooth finish and wash the area. Then I waited a week before I started painting the house. I first rolled the wall which has vertical boarding with SW Duration paint but noticed hairline cracks on some boards after letting the paint dry. I followed up by painting a second coat with a brush and it seems to reduce the number of boards that have hairline cracks but some areas still exhibit this problem.

Should I use a primer or some other type of paint instead and see if this fixes the problem? I am wondering if this could be due to wood shrinkage or something.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

#3 ·
The condition of the wood is only about 2 1/2 years old as this was a newly built house. I noticed paint starting to crack about a year ago and mildew becoming a big problem in areas where the sun does not hit the area.

The interesting thing is that the trim wood doesn't seem to have cracks which I presume is due to it being painted with an oil based paint whereas the main body was painted with latex. The original paint was some cheap Kelly Moore stuff.

#5 ·
The hairline cracks develop on some veritical boarding and vary along each board, some hairline cracks develop on the side some in the middle of the vertical board. After the priming the surface and waiting till the paint dries, I still notice hairline cracks. Upon putting a exterior coat on it, most of the lines disappear but a few lines show up along the vertical boards.