Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-26-2013, 01:27 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Hartford, CT
Posts: 49
Share |
Default

Flood Floetrol


Has anyone used this stuff?? I am looking to paint about 8 interior doors and I want to obtain as smooth a finish as possible. Is it worth using? Does it help obtain a better finish? I plan on using a foam roller and B Moore regal Select interior Semi Gloss white.

Thanks!

dschribs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 02:15 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,646
Default

Flood Floetrol


I have used it when painting with BM impervo water based on crown molding and it made a world of difference. the paint glides on easier and it slows down the drying time to give the paint time to even out and the finish had no noticeable brush marks.

DannyT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 02:35 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Hartford, CT
Posts: 49
Default

Flood Floetrol


Thanks!!
dschribs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 02:43 PM   #4
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 21,221
Default

Flood Floetrol


I've used it also---you do not need much--the paint you have chosen is darn good without any extra help.
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to oh'mike For This Useful Post:
Jmayspaint (06-26-2013), user1007 (06-27-2013)
Old 06-26-2013, 03:58 PM   #5
Member
 
Jmayspaint's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1,055
Default

Flood Floetrol


Yea, don't use too much. It can thin the paint down to the point of affecting coverage. And will increase the chance of runs.
Jmayspaint is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jmayspaint For This Useful Post:
oh'mike (06-26-2013)
Old 06-26-2013, 05:33 PM   #6
ltd
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 540
Default

Flood Floetrol


xim latex paint extender is a better product imho.get it at a real paint store like s/w
ltd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 08:41 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: outside ocala fl
Posts: 3,196
Default

Flood Floetrol


Have used both my vote Flotrol. Now having said that everyone is assuming you are using latex. If not you will need Penotrol for oil based.
ToolSeeker is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ToolSeeker For This Useful Post:
user1007 (06-26-2013)
Old 06-27-2013, 06:06 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: ontario canada
Posts: 675
Default

Flood Floetrol


the stuff works great. i mainly use it when painting ceilings and the always turn out perfect no roller lines and a nice smooth flat finish.
princelake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 10:19 AM   #9
Too Short? Cut it Again!
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 9,635
Default

Flood Floetrol


You did invest in a quality brush right? Purdy, Wooster etc.

All the paint conditioners like mentoned will not fix crappy brush bristles dragged and "feathered" lightly over your finish.
user1007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 08:26 PM   #10
Rubbin walls since'79
 
Brushjockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Mn
Posts: 2,518
Default

Flood Floetrol


After I tried XIM latex extender I threw out the rest of the gallon of flotrol I had. That was over 5 years ago. Haven't looked back..
__________________
"It's better to come here with questions before you screw up than to come here after and ask how to fix them."- JS
Brushjockey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Brushjockey For This Useful Post:
chrisn (07-02-2013)
Old 07-02-2013, 11:08 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina, USA
Posts: 2,412
Default

Flood Floetrol


I've never used XIM. Floetrol is just OK, IMO. It helps, but isn't a "night and day" experience as some others seem to have.

jeffnc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is the electric garage door opener popping the flood lights? Hardway Electrical 3 03-01-2013 04:58 PM
How to wire an exterior flood light to a new combination switch evm Electrical 6 02-01-2013 07:09 AM
Wiring 2 Motion Sensor Flood Lights Through Siding Datwood2009 Electrical 3 05-15-2010 10:16 AM
Question with wiring up a flood light. SuperAkuma Electrical 6 09-20-2008 10:58 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.