First-Time Painter Needs Advice From Experienced Gurus - Painting - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-19-2010, 10:09 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Question

First-Time painter needs advice from experienced gurus

Hello Everyone

I'm a student, moving into an apartment on 9/10. I initially wanted to pick out the colors and have a contractor do it but the prices scared me off... I mean, it's just painting, after all...

I have a couple of questions and I'm hoping you all can steer me in the right direction.

The living room is 16.5'x 15', bedroom is 11.5' x 11.5' and the "dining" room is 8' x 8', the ceiling is 9'. According to my calculations, I need about 3.5 Gallons ( 7 for a double coat )...is this correct?

I intend to go with a flat, dark paint, SW 7594 "Carriage Door" or anything similar. I live alone, so it's not a high traffic area and it doesn't have to be the most washable. I just want to be able to enjoy movies/games/sports and avoid reflective surfaces without having to paint the whole place black.

I keep hearing good things about ProMar 200 but don't know if its available in all colors. Most of the recommendations of ProMar are for white/off-white, I wanted to know if the recommendation is also valid for darker colors...

Finally, I'd like to double check the equipment list before I order, this is going to be a one-man job...

1 x Purdy XL Dale 3" - For Cutting In
1 x 2" x 60yds Painter's Masking Tape
1 x Heavy Duty Canvas Dropcloth 12' x 15'
1 x Wooster Sherlock Wide Boy 12" to 18" - Roller Frame
1 x Wooster Sherlock GT Convertible 4' to 8' - Extension Pole

Wooster 50/50 1/2" x 18" ( Need to figure ot roughly how many I'll need...any ideas?"

Paint Roller Tray, Gloves, Respirator, Lacquer Thinner.. A small ladder perhaps...?