First Time DIYer - Need Guidance For Painting Kid's Room - Painting - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-04-2012, 11:45 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Question

First time DIYer - need guidance for painting kid's room

Hi, I am new to the DIY world, but it is time for my little girl to have a "Big Girl" room and I have searched and searched decorating ideas. Being on a budget, I have decided to paint her room, maybe have one wall that I might use one of those peel and stick murals, but when I went to look at paint... there were dozens of options - and I am not just talking about colors.

What kind of paint should I use on a child's bedroom wall? What is the best brand in terms of durability and quality for the price? Should I use a Paint + Primer or purchase them separately? What is VOC? Is it important? What tools do I actually need for this project? Is there a website with tips and how-to articles and videos?

Like I said, I am on a budget and do not have a lot of money. I am looking for a paint that is not in the $50/gallon range - any advice? Thank you for the help!

Advertisement

Jarvisjade34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 12:40 AM   #2
Too Short? Cut it Again!

Rewards Points: 2,000

Use the search engine to search this site for matching posts. Meanwhile.

You should invest in good painting tools starting with a sturdy and safe ladder.

A good 2.5 Inch angled Purdy or Wooster sash brush will cost you $15 retail but if you take care of it you will have it for a long time. Those bags-o-brushes for $10 will have sizes you will never use, will shed bristles, and will not perform well.