Finishing Plywood Built-ins? - Painting - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-10-2010, 08:15 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Finishing plywood built-ins?

Hi guys,

I have a project coming up, and wanted to get some research in before I try to price it.

A customer has had a built-in entertainment unit built (I will see it tomorrow), plywood carcase with wood facing. Let's say the trim is pine for now. I'm a residential painter (all things latex or oil, you know the drill....scrape, sand, oil prime, 2 topcoats), not a furniture refinisher. I've done my share of oil staining w/poly topcoat, windows and the like, and things for myself, but not entire panels such as this.
I'm looking for the heads-up stuff, such as:

- what is going to be the major mistake I'd make here? lol
- should I use a conditioner? I will assume it's a quality birch-type ply; I know the carpenter and he does top o' the line work...
- what's the best method for stain application - rag, or brush with rag?
- I'm thinking gloss poly on the outer surfaces, satin poly on the insides, is this typical? The customer likes gloss. I've done a bit with 3-coat, 20% thinned poly and #0000 wool jobs, so that part should go ok.

I'd appreciate hearing anyone's experiences with a similar project, I am sure I could figure it out but having more knowledge can't hurt!
Thanks a lot,

~Mike

Advertisement

GibsonGM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2010, 08:23 AM   #2
Too Short? Cut it Again!

Rewards Points: 2,000

I would check with your paint store or better yet with a store or site that sells products to woodworkers and cabinet makers. I like wiping liquid stains on/off but you might find some of the gel stain products easier to control if you are not sure.