Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-27-2009, 09:57 PM   #1

Share |

Exterior paint for metal cemetary statue!

Hello,
I am a muralist and decorative painter and have been commissioned to redo/paint a cemetary statue of approximate 9' tall, which is constructed of hollow steel. The statue will be stripped (sand blasted).

The colors to be used will be (hopefully) metallic paints.....bronze/brown/antique gold/ and possibly black glaze to create an aged look as it once was. The only metallics I can find are acrylic, but have metal in them.

So, the question is....does anyone know of better exterior metallic paints that are available suitable for outdoors with a
UV protective clear topcoat that can be used for extra protection (since it is under trees) ??? And, how long would one guarantee such a project?

I have consulted with all the name brand paint stores and so far have not had much luck.

Thanks,
Rob

woodsart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 07:21 AM   #2
Too Short? Cut it Again!

You will probably find the historical or art restoration and curatorial folk at a good museum or university valuable sources of information about these things. Try the Walker in Museum in Minneapolis. Des Moines just opened a major outdoor sculpture garden and had experts assembled from all over the World consulting so those names should be handy. They should all be approachable if not flattered you asked their advice once you navigate how to get to them (if you get frustrated cheat and go through the public relations office like I do). Check websites and forums that they use and see if there are similar posts or if you can add one.