Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-30-2012, 07:12 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

drywall and wallpaper removal

I recently removed the wallpaper in our kitchen and dining room. I had someone come and patch the drywall damage that occured in a few areas. After spending some time here reading I am worried because I haven't washed all the paste off of the walls yet.

So, is this bad? Can I still wash the walls and remove the paste and not ruin the new drywall patches? Am I doomed to have bubbling paint? I am totally new to everything DIY, so any help would be greatly appriciated.

I have Guardz and Zinsser Cover Stain oil primer. Which would be best to use in this situation?

Thanks!

Hazelnut3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 07:21 PM   #2
Rubbin walls since'79

Rewards Points: 2,000

Do you just have a few spots of repair, or all over? You could do your best to wash around them. Or just wash the patches off too and do it right.

Either of your primers will do the job. But if you can't get much paste off it might be better to go with the oil.
You will probably have a rough surface- because of the paste. It might require a skim coat to get it smooth ( after the prime) .

Best plan- ignore the patches and clean thoroughly. Let dry, lightly sand to get any last "crumbles" off, prime with Gardz.
Do any repair needed, sand those, spot prime those ( or better yet complete prime with a pigmented primer so you can see any flaws left)
and then finish paint 2x.

Old 07-30-2012, 07:24 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 2,150

Hundreds of topics on this very subject........the search feature is your friend.