Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-10-2007, 09:06 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 25

Drywall Repair + Dark Color + Repaint = Help

I have a semi-large (2.5") hole in a dark red (cherryish) painted wall. I obviously will need to sand the area and put a drywall patch over it along with patch compound.

What will I need to do to repaint the area and make it look even with the rest of the wall?

I planned on priming the area that was repaired (as if I was starting from scratch) and then repainting the entire section of the wall so I don't have any noticable "square" that is a darker patch than the rest. Is this the correct method?

I'm relatively new to painting in my house so I'm not sure exactly what to do.

Can anyone give some tips?

ClemsonJeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2007, 10:12 PM   #2
Pro re-work contractor

Rewards Points: 10

You do have it right. Paint corner to corner and you will be fine. If you have the original paint you could feather in this area. But I do not know what the lighting is in this room. Corner to corner you can't go wrong.

Put a piece of wood behind this hole and insert a small piece of drywall in this 2.5" hole. Use paper tape. Three coats of joint compound will be the charm.

analog414 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2007, 10:24 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by analog414 View Post
You do have it right. Paint corner to corner and you will be fine. If you have the original paint you could feather in this area. But I do not know what the lighting is in this room. Corner to corner you can't go wrong.

Put a piece of wood behind this hole and insert a small piece of drywall in this 2.5" hole. Use paper tape. Three coats of joint compound will be the charm.